A Short Story: Prayer

Image

Praying at Heavens Gate.

I know of a man; David Livingstone, he was born in Scotland in 1813. Of course when I say I know him dosn’t mean I had met him one on one. I met him on a long journey through his story- his biography. I know David to be one of history’s greatest explorers..-before I go on with my story, please dont get me wrong for the umpteenth time, the storyline of this story is unique and different, why, I’m going to tell the story my way…….

David was one of five children in a poor family that resided in two small rooms. His parents were poor in earthly wealth but rich in spirit, and they inspired their son to devote his life to serving God and his fellow man.  Livingstone began working in the cotton mills at age ten and continued there for many years, eventually earning enough money to put himself through college, where he studied medicine and theology. He spent most of his adult life exploring Africa, bringing “modern” medicine and God’s Word to its remotest regions. He was the first person to cross the continent from east to west and the first white man to see Victoria Falls. He planted missions, spread the gospel, and endured incredible hardships. In doing so, it is said that he added a million square miles to what was then considered the whole world-and hundreds, maybe thousands of souls to the heavenly rolls.

He was showered with accolades for his work. But the thing about his life that touches my heart and perhaps the heart of others is the way he died…-wait, I’m about to tell you an interesting kind of death so listen carefully…. Early on the morning of May 1, 1873, he was found dead, kneeling beside his bed; I told you his death was interesting, but that’s not all. While doing God’s will, praying alone in a remote African hut, he was lifted up by God’s own hand and surrounded by the heavenly host singing a glorious “Amen!”

He died in what I presume to be a strange but extraordinary manner- he died whilst praying. This is just another one of the many stories of the heroes of faith.

“Pray continually; give thanks in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus. -1 THESSALONIANS 5:17-18”

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

