Give Thanks

We give thanks to you, O God, we give thanks, for your Name is near; men tell of your wonderful deeds”. -Psalm 75:1

Thankfulness has become a life theme for me, especially on bad days. Like everyone else, I sometimes feel God has passed me by, put me on a shelf, or left me in a basement to languish. But even if i can’t be thankful for what I’ve received on those days, I’m thankful for what I’ve escaped.

I once heard of a little girl who was overjoyed one evening because broccoli wasn’t on the dinner table! Whenever God puts broccoli on your plate or allows tears to flow form your eyes, remember…it is only because he has a greater good in mind. he wants to grow a rainbow in your heart.

I don’t know about you, but i don’t want to live my life in the past lane. I want to find a zillion things to be thankful for today. What are you thankful for right this moment? Aim your mind in a thankful direction by being grateful for the tiniest things: water to drink, a moment to rest, the colour of a flower or a sunset or a bird, a piece of bread, a familiar song on the radio… Keep looking for sights, smells, sounds, that make you feel pleasure, and write them down. Don’t worry about what is going on around you: the bills, the kids at school, your leaking purse, the failed admission, your job, that vegetable-like business…all these things are just tests from God to strengthen you for the BIG position he has ahead for you. The psalmist said “I have never seen the righteous forsaken”, and that word is confirmatory. God can never forget or leave you hanging on the shelve of lost-and-never-found, he can’t remember-to-forget-you, he’s always there at all times especially when those times are tough, he’s there when you fall and get a cut or when you bruise your knee, he’s there when you’re celebrating your birthday and he even blows out the candles with you…if God did not forget Joseph, Hannah, Job, Rebekah… then he wouldn’t forget you- not now, not ever. Try and do a playback of all God has done for you, from the time of your conception till now and you’ll see that there are a lot of things to be thankful for. Write them down and so whenever you feel sad or you feel neglected just take it and read out loud to yourself. One woman told me, “I’ve been writing at least five things I’m grateful for each night. It’s been wonderful. I certainly see a change. I was such a negative person.”

images

Decide to be thankful, and encourage one another to cultivate grateful hearts. And also remember that God is thankful for you.

Leave a Reply

